Religious Emblems and Activities

Religious Activities

All people, Scouts or not, Catholic or not, have the opportunity to earn patches for completing Religious Activities. Religious Activities are organized into seven series and each activity has requirements broken out by age level.

  • The Rosary Series offers activities that teach young people about the Rosary.
  • The Marian Series offers activities that examine Marian Feasts commemorated in the United States.
  • The American Saint Series provides an opportunity for Scouts to learn about great men and women who influence and inspire American Catholics.
  • The Modern Saint Series offers Scouts examples of 20th and 21st century men and women who made an impact on Catholics around the world.
  • The Faith Series provides Scouts an opportunity to learn about key elements of Catholic tradition and teaching.
  • The International Series offers activities designed to help Scouts understand their connection to the Universal Church and fellow Catholic Scouts in the global community, as well as understand our shared responsibility to care for the Earth.
  • There is also a Heritage Series of activities that Scouts can earn.

Learn more about Catholic Scouting Religious Activities.

Religious Emblems

All Catholic Scouts whether they are Cub Scouts, Scouts BSA, Venturers or Sea Scouts have the opportunity to earn Religious Emblems. Religious Emblems help Scouts grow in their faith and program content is tailored to a Scout's age.

View the Religious Emblems below and learn more about each of them.


Light of Christ

Designed for 6 and 7-year-old Cub Scouts.


Parvuli Dei

Designed for 8 to 10-year-old Cub Scouts.


Ad Altare Dei

Designed for any Roman Catholic youth registered in a Scouts BSA Troop, Venturing Crew or Sea Scout Ship.


Light is Life

Designed for 12 and 13-year-old Scouts of the Eastern-rite Catholic Churches. Scouts in the Eastern Catholic Churches work on Light is Life instead of the Ad Altare Dei emblem.


Pope Pius XII

Designed for Scouts BSA, Venturing Crew members and Sea Scout Ship members who are 15 years old or older.

Scroll to Top